Meet the Faculty and Grad Students

 

Faculty 

Conway-Andrew.jpg

Conway, Andrew (Cognitive Psychology)

Department Head

Office: SH 220

Phone: (575)646-2502

Email: aconway@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: https://caliberlab.wixsite.com/website

Area of Research:  Dr. Conway's research is aimed at understanding individual differences in cognitive abilities. People differ in their cognitive abilities and these differences matter in life, in terms of academic achievements, job performance, income, and health. Dr. Conway's research is concerned with how cognitive abilities are measured and what role they play in various real-world cognitive tasks such as learning new information, reading and listening comprehension, and decision making.

Education:

  • B.S. in Computer Science & Psychology from Union College in (1991)
  • M.A. in Experimental Psychology from University of South Carolina in (1993)
  • Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology with a minor in Statistics from University of South Carolina in (1996)
 
Picture of Marlena Fraune

Fraune, Marlena (Engineering Psychology,Social Psychology)

Assistant Professor

Office: SH 339 (Office hours: Wed and Thu at 9:00am via zoom)

Phone: (575) 646-6406

Email: mfraune@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: https://web.nmsu.edu/~mfraune/index.html

Area of Research: Social human-robot interaction (HRI) in intergroup contexts

Education:

  • B.A. Psychology – Beloit College, (2013)
  • Ph.D. Cognitive Science and Social Psychology – Indiana University Bloomington, (2018)

 

Guynn-Melissa.jpg

Guynn, Melissa (Cognitive Psychology)

Associate Professor

Office: SH 323

Phone: (575) 646-1047

Email: mguynn@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: http://wordpress.nmsu.edu/mguynn/

Area of Research: My primary research interests are in the area of human memory.  One line of work focuses on prospective memory, or memory to do things in the future in the absence of a direct prompt to remember.  My interests in this area include the generation-recognition model of recall, the distinction between organizational and distinctive effects on memory, and collaborative inhibition in memory.  More generally, I’m also interested in how the construct of a “retrieval mode” supports both prospective and retrospective memory.em

Education:

  • B.A. – Furman University, (1991)
  • M.A. – Rice University, (1994)
  • Ph.D. – University of New Mexico, (2001)
Hout_Headshot2020.jpg

Hout, Michael (Cognitive Psychology)

Associate Professor

Office: SH 343 (Office hours: Mon and Tue 10:00-11:00am by appointment in person or via zoom) 

Phone: (575) 646-1730

Email: mhout@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: Michaelhout.com

Area of Research: Visual Cognition, visual attention, memory, eye-movements, and computational modeling.

Education:

  • Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology from the University of Pittsburgh
  • Master’s of Arts in Psychology from Arizona State University
  • PhD in Psychology from Arizona State University
Tim Ketelaar.png

Ketelaar, Timothy (Social Psychology)

Graduate Program Director, Associate Professor

Office: SH 346 (Office hours: link to schedule an appointment)

Phone: (575) 646-1833

Email: ketelaar@nmsu.edu

Personal Webpage: Emotion & Social Decision Making Lab 

Area of Research: Emotion, evolutionary psychology, and philosophy of science

Education:

  • BS Psychology, (1986), University of Iowa
  • MS Social-Personality Psychology, (1989), Purdue University
  • PhD Personality Psychology, (1993), University of Michigan
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, (1993-1996), NIMH Program in Emotion Research (Directors: Paul Ekman & Richard Davidson; Mentor: Gerald Clore)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, (1996-1997), Center for Adaptive Behavior & Cognition Max Planck Institute for Psychological Research (Director: Gerd Gigerenzer)
Picture of James Kroger

Kroger, Jim (Cognitive Psychology)

Associate Professor

Office: SH 326 (Office hours: Mon and Wed 12:00-1:00pm)

Phone: (575) 646-2243

Email: jkroger@nmsu.edu

Area of Research: Neural dynamics, control of attention, functional organization of the frontal cortex, neural processing of analogical and other forms of reasoning, controlling devices with thought.

Education:

  • B.A. Psychology, B.A. Philosophy – University of Texas, Austin
  • M.S., Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology – University of California, Los Angeles
Picture of Justin MacDonald

MacDonald, Justin (Cognitive Psychology,Engineering Psychology)

Professor

Office: SH 347 (Office hours: Wed 10:00-11:00am and Thu 1:30-2:30pm via zoom)

Phone: (575) 646-6223

Email: jmacd@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: Justin MacDonald

Area of Research: Inferential statistical procedures, auditory sensation and perception, decision-making under uncertainty, and the mathematical/computational modeling of phenomena in these areas.

Education:

  • B.S., Psychology, University of Washington, (1996)
  • M.S., Quantitative-Mathematical Psychology, Purdue University, (1999)
  • Ph.D, Quantitative-Mathematical Psychology, Purdue University, (2003)
Picture1.jpg

Madson, Laura (Social Psychology)

Professor

Office: SH 342 (Office hours: Mon and Friday 10:30-11:30am)

Phone: (575) 646-6207

Email: lmadson@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: http://lauramadson.com

Area of Research: Gender, sexuality, scholarship of teaching and learning

Education:

  • B.A., Psychology and English – Luther College, (1991)
  • M.S., Social Psychology – Iowa State University, (1993)
  • Ph.D., Social Psychology – Iowa State University, (1996)
Picture1.jpg

Marks, Michael (Social Psychology)

Professor

Office: SH 330 (Office hours Tuesday 1:00-2:00pm or via zoom)

Phone: (575) 646-1980

Email: mjmarks@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: web.nmsu.edu/~mjmarks

Area of Research: close relationships, attachment, and emotion

Education:

  • B.A., Psychology (2001), University of CA, Davis
  • M.S., Social Psychology (2004), University of IL, Chicago
  • Ph.D., Social Psychology (2007), University of IL, Urbana-Champaign
Papesh_headshot.jpg

Papesh, Megan (Cognitive Psychology)

Associate Professor

Office: SH 312 (Office hours: Wednesday 12:00-2:00pm via zoom only)

Phone: (575) 646-2502

Email: mpapesh@nmsu.edu

Personal webpage: https://www.meganpapesh.com/

Area of Research: Human attention, perception, and memory

Education:

  • B.S. Psychology – Baldwin-Wallace College, Berea, Ohio (2005)
  • M.A. Psychology – Arizona State University (2008)
  • Ph.D. Psychology – Arizona State University (2012)
IMG_0465.JPG

 Simon, Dominic (Cognitive Psychology)

Associate Professor

Office: SH 331 (Office hours: Tue and Wed 9:00-10:00am)

Phone: (575) 646-3533

Email: domsimon@nmsu.edu

Personal Webpage: https://wordpress.nmsu.edu/domsimon/

Area of Research: Human learning and memory, motor learning, skill acquisition

Education:

  • BSc Kinesiology / Physics, St Mary’s College, (1990) Strawberry Hill, UK
  • MA Psychology, University of California, (1994) at Los Angeles, USA
  • PhD Psychology, University of California, (1997) at Los Angeles, USA
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept. of Kinesiology, McMaster University,(1999-2002) Hamilton, ON, Canada
IMG_0654.JPG

Trafimow, David (Social Psychology)

Professor

Office: SH 337

Phone: (575) 646-4023

Email: dtrafimo@nmsu.edu

Personal Webpage: http://psych.nmsu.edu/faculty/trafimow/

Area of Research: Social cognition, attributions and memory for events and persons, methodological, statistical, and philosophical issues pertaining to science.

Education:

  • BA Psychology, University of Illinois (1984)
  • MA Psychology, Indiana University (1988)
  • PhD Psychlogy, University of Illinois at Champaign (1993)


Emeriti


J.R. Cowie (Emeritus), Ph.D. (Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland) – automatic language processing, psycholinguistics

V. S. Johnston (Emeritus), Ph.D. (Edinburgh)– biopsychology, comparative, psychopharmacology, neuropsychology

J. E. McDonald (Emeritus), Ph.D. (New Mexico State University)– cognitive psychology, engineering psychology

L. Thompson (Emerita), Ph.D. (University of California Santa Cruz)-cognitive/developmental psychology

K. Paap (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Wisconsin)– psycholinguistics

R. Schvaneveldt (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Wisconsin)– engineering psychology, aviation

W. Stephan (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Minnesota)– stereotyping and prejudice, cross-cultural psychology


Current graduate students

 

Student 

Email address 

Area 

Advisor

Amiotte, Amie amie@nmsu.edu Cognitivee MacDonald
Antonio, Jordan Sparrow jsparrow@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Au, Rachel rhyau@nmsu.edu Engineering Fraune
Bauer, Kacie kbauer1@nmsu.edu Cognitive Conway
Covey, Lee Anna leecov@nmsu.edu Cognitive Simon
Daggett, Eben edaggett@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Dearie, Meg mdearie@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Goode, Dre dgoode@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Dhakal, Arjab adhakal@nmsu.edu Engineering Fraune
Henning, Daniel dhennin5@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
Kirkeby, Kimberley kirkeby@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Ling, Katrina katling@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Madrid, Jessica cyrene@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Jennifer Martinez jennie25@nmsu.edu Engineering Fraune
McPherson, Rene ramtuff@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
O'Leary, Shelby sloleary@nmsu.edu Cognitive Papesh
Pathare, Manali manalip@nmsu.edu Cognitive Conway
Penn, Rebecca rpenn@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Rheman, Michelle michr@nmsu.edu Engineering Fraune
Rodriguez, Abigail abigail9@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Roth, Nathaniel ndroth@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Sanchez, Diego sand27@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
Smith, Victoria vctsmith@nmsu.edu Cognitive Simon
Stone, Lauren lms933@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Strutz, Cate cstrutz@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Thoksakis, Arianna akt7707@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
Thomas, Angela-Faith thomasa3@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Walker, Danielle dnwalker@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
Wheat, Sarah scwheat@nmsu.edu Social Madson
White, Bryan bryanw@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Whiteaker, Leora lwhiteak@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Wilson, Cobe wilsoncd@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Wilson, Evelyn enwilson@nmsu.edu Engineering Fraune
Wu, Ashley ashleywu@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Zappe, Ashley ashleyz@nmsu.edu Cognitive Guynn