Meet the Faculty, Staff, and Grad Students

Austin, Erin (Visiting Assistant Professor)

Developmental/health psychology, peer victimization, health outcomes, interpersonal relationships

(575) 646-4715, boyd@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

Dolgov, Igor  (Associate Professor)

Perception and action, natural user interfaces, embodied cognition, human factors, and unmanned aircraft systems

(575) 646-2298,  id@nmsu.edu

 

 

Fraune, Marlena (Assistant Professor)

Social human-robot interaction (HRI) in intergroup contexts

(575) 646-2502, mfraune@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

 

picture of Bea GuzmanGuzman, Beatrice (Admin Assistant)

(575) 646-1717, bguzman@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Melissa Guynn, Associate Professor of PsychologyGuynn, Melissa (Associate Professor)

Prospective memory

(575) 646-1047, mguynn@nmsu.edu

 

 

03/31/2015: NMSU psychology professor Michael Hout (Photo by Darren Phillips)

Hout, Michael (Assistant Professor)

Visual Cognition, visual attention, memory, eye-movements, and computational modeling.

(575) 646-1730, mhout@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

11/14/2014: NMSU psychology professor Tim Ketelaar. (Photo by Darren Phillips)

Ketelaar, Timothy (Associate Professor)

Emotion, evolutionary psychology, philosophy of science

(575) 646-1833, ketelaar@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

 

Dr. James. K. Kroger, Associate Professor in the NMSU Psychology DepartmentKroger, Jim (Associate Professor)

Neural dynamics, control of attention, functional organization of the frontal cortex, neural processing of analogical and other forms of reasoning, controlling devices with thought.

(575) 646-2243, jkroger@nmsu.edu

 

 

Dr. Justin MacDonaldMacDonald, Justin
(Associate Professor)

inferential statistical procedures, auditory sensation and perception, decision-making under uncertainty, and the mathematical/computational modeling of phenomena in these areas.

(575) 646-6223, jmacd@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Laura Madson, Associate Professor in the NMSU Psychology DepartmentMadson, Laura (Associate Professor)

Gender, sexuality, scholarship of teaching and learning

(575) 646-6207, lmadson@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

 

Dr. Michael Marks, Associate Professor in the NMSU Psychology DepartmentMarks, Michael (Associate Professor)

close relationships, attachment, and emotion

(575) 646-1980, mjmarks@nmsu.edu

 

 


Dr. Dominic SimonSimon, Dominic (Department Head)

Human learning and memory, motor learning, skill acquisition

(575) 646-2502, domsimon@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

 

Trafimow, David (Professor)

Social cognition, attributions and memory for events and persons, methodological, statistical, and philosophical issues pertaining to science.

(575) 646-4023, dtrafimo@nmsu.edu

 

 

 

Emeriti

J.R. Cowie (Emeritus), Ph.D. (Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland) – automatic language processing, psycholinguistics

V. S. Johnston (Emeritus), Ph.D. (Edinburgh)– biopsychology, comparative, psychopharmacology, neuropsychology

J. E. McDonald (Emeritus), Ph.D. (New Mexico State University)– cognitive psychology, engineering psychology

L. Thompson (Emerita), Ph.D. (University of California Santa Cruz)-cognitive/developmental psychology

K. Paap (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Wisconsin)– psycholinguistics

R. Schvaneveldt (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Wisconsin)– engineering psychology, aviation

W. Stephan (Emeritus) Ph.D. (Minnesota)– stereotyping and prejudice, cross-cultural psychology

 

Current graduate students

Student Email address Area Advisor
Beasley, Morgan mbeasley@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Berg, Mary maryberg@nmsu.edu Cognitive Kroger
Covey, Lee Anna leecov@nmsu.edu  Engineering Dolgov
Henning, Daniel dhennin5@nmsu.edu Cognitive MacDonald
Kang, Youngjin  yjk@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Madrid, Jessica cyrene@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Morrow, Audrey amorrow@nmsu.edu Cognitive Kroger
Myuz, Hunter  hamz@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Penn, Rebecca rpenn@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Pyle, Michael  mbp03c@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Ruckel, Lindsay lruckel1@nmsu.edu Social Trafimow
Sabic, Edin sabic@nmsu.edu Engineering Dolgov
Sandin, Hailey sandinhj@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Scarince, Collin cscarinc@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Stimatze, Tamara tstimatz@nmsu.edu Social Madson
Underwood, Adam aunderw1@nmsu.ed Cognitive Guynn
White, Bryan bryanw@nmsu.edu Cognitive Hout
Wu, Ashley ashleywu@nmsu.edu Social Marks
Young, Tara youngt92@nmsu.edu Social Marks